Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Winners of Debate Competition

There's No Debate: These Kids are Winners 

By 250 News
Sunday, March 25, 2012 02:45 PM

 Posted from Prince George Citizen

NADC winners (l-r) Minlyn Chen, Arctica Cunningham, Kaylee Harned, Jesmeen Deo, Ahsen Chaudhry, Gurbind Deo, Fei Ge, Terrence Badham

Prince George, BC - It's been an argumentative weekend for high school students taking part in the 2nd Annual Northern Academic Debate Challenge hosted by UNBC's Debate Society this weekend.
Tournament Director, Imogene McDonald, says Friday evening started off with a workshop on public speaking and some fun exercises to get the participants warmed up for Saturday morning's debate workshops and competition.
"Yesterday the kids had a gruelling day," says McDonald (shown in photo at right). "They had five debates, so to go through that process five times is really mentally challenging and mentally exhausting, so we're really proud of them for that."
McDonald was a participant in last year's inaugural NADC as a grade 12 student. She says the goals of the tournament are to introduce elementary and high school students to university-style debating. "It's especially good for grade 12 students - it gives them a chance to see what the university is all about and, hopefully, we can attract them to UNBC."
Arctica Cunningham traveled from Smithers to participate in the challenge. The Grade 11 Smithers Secondary student captured 2nd place in public speaking. Artica's mom says the topics were challenging and the calibre of this weekend's debates were exceptional.
Today wrapped with one more debate and then finals, before the award presentation:
Top Junior Debater - Minlyn Chen (Southridge Elementary)
Top Senior Debater - Ahsen Chaudhry

Debate Final Rankings
  1. Gurbind Deo (College Heights Secondary) and Ahsen Chaudhry
  2. Terrence Badham (College Heights Secondary) and Fei Ge
  3. Kaylee Harned (Westside Academy) and Jesmeen Deo
Public Speech Awards
  1. Ahsen Chaudhry
  2. Arctica Cunningham (Smithers Secondary)
  3. Gurbind Deo